Memoirs of the Molested

51zFnhVYnKL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_I’m so excited I can hardly think to put this post together.  But I must share this news with my friends and invite them to dance with me now.

I’m sharing a success that isn’t just my own.  It is one born of the many women and men that I’ve come to know through the unifying experience of trauma and abuse.  We have listened, supported and honored each person’s story.  Together we share the goal of education and enlightenment on a subject usually hidden from view.  The wise words of my friend, Joss Burnel, are relevent to this moment (and I’m paraphrasing), “We must hold hands together until we circle the world”.

My story was accepted to be included in Valerie Perez’s recently published book, Memoirs of the Molested. and displayed in Amazon’s preview “Look Inside” feature. Whoa!

“Memoirs of the Molested is a collection of literary works meant to promote awareness of child molestation and help to educate the public on the effects this type of abuse has on the victims and their families. Proceeds from the sale of this book will benefit a nonprofit organization in the San Antonio area that provides specialized services to children recovering from the trauma of sexual abuse.”

Kudos to Valerie Perez for the courage to put this book together for such a worthy cause. I couldn’t be more pleased to be a part of this journey with the other survivors and authors contained in the book.  What an incredible family we are becoming.

About Rescuing Little L

Documenting the pieces of my journey...recovery from childhood sexual abuse and cruel ignorance...the effects of those incidious acts through adulthood... until the grace of recovery transcended the trauma and shame of my past, making it possible to return to Rescue Little L.... View all posts by Rescuing Little L

13 responses to “Memoirs of the Molested

  • Julie Catherine

    Honey, as a fellow survivor, I know the importance of educating people on such a sensitive subject. While my heart goes out to you, and to all who have survived abuse – especially the devastation of child abuse – I’m thrilled to know your story is part of such a worthy project. I’m so proud of you, congratulations! ~ Much love and hugs, Julie xoxox

    • Rescuing Little L

      Julie….I’m beginning to realize that beautiful words and truths seem to flow from those of us that have experienced the dark places….Your poetry has been so soulful to read and now I get it even more. Thanks for your loving words and support and grateful each day for the lovely women I’ve met during this process….

  • Crowing Crone Joss

    As I read your contribution, there were parts I totally related to – and for a moment I was back there, that subservient child who so wanted to please, parts made me ache and then I cried. I read your last line and my heart was filled with celebration and pride. I can’t begin to express how proud I am to know you, how honoured I am to join hands with you. You are an amazing woman, just bloody amazing!

    • Rescuing Little L

      Oh sweetie…I hate that you felt pain and ache but I suppose its part of the process of becoming a warrior who walks in beauty….its so difficult to honor the part of us that craved love and affection but I know that our needs were pure. Thanks for holding my hand while I go from defeated to triumphant! I love you good, Joss Burnel….

  • Randy Creath

    I’m very proud of you!! I hope you can sense the power that your writing and creative energy produces in the world beyond yourself!!!

    • Rescuing Little L

      Thank you Randy! I’m beginning to understand that the power of love can sometimes mean tackling hard issues and allowing righteous anger….Slowly I’m learning that these issues brought to light will mean freedom…Now let’s take our little kindergarten selves outside to play and have a do-over…..Wanna play kickball?

  • sarahpotterwrites

    Fantastic. Well done. Such a wonderful opportunity to speak out. I will pay a visit to Amazon to have a look. Little L, I’m so proud of you. xoxo

  • Heather

    OMG, congratulations and many thanks for sharing your story. I know it will help others 🙂

  • thejourneyofmyhealing

    Look at you! Courage is your name my dear! Getting out there, telling your truth, sharing and shining the light. I am so proud – good goin’ sister. Peace ❤

  • Deborah the Closet Monster

    Hurrah, for courage and for publication! I just bought my copy.

    • Rescuing Little L

      Deb….You are such a peach! Hope you enjoy the book, got my 3 copies today….Its short but really cool….These two women did this all by themselves and I’m very proud of them….Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

